My friend Ryan Paul from Ryan Paul and the Ardent fame just sent me a link to this video of The Walkmen playing live at NYC’s Bowery Ballroom. Now, I don’t normally like to use this blog to poke fun at people, but I just can’t resist with this drummer.  I like The Walkmen’s music, but I had never actually seen Matt Barrick play up until I saw this video just now, so I compiled a short list of what I imagine he’s probably thinking as he plays…

“You know, a lot of people have spent a lot of time studying how to make this instrument sound good.  I don’t care about any of that… I just want to do it differently for the sake of being different, regardless of how bad I might sound.”

“How can I possibly get to my rack tom mid-groove while my right hand is glued to the hihat?  Oh… maybe this way…”

“My wrist hurts.”

“I have no idea why sound engineers always complain about my snare hits being too weak and inconsistent.”

“It sure is fun using this big bouncy exercise ball as a drum throne.”

Disclaimer: If anybody knows what Barrick’s left-over-right technique is all about, feel free to comment on this post with some insight on why anybody would ever play that way.  Also, to be fair, here’s a video of me playing with RP&TA playing at the Turf last month, so you can make fun of that if you want to.

