Some friends hipped me to this article. It’s well written, insightful, and an enjoyable read. Here are a few observations/comments off the top of my head:

1. The article’s author is not a musician. I would put a pretty heavy wager on this.

2. I made a straight-faced comparison of Led Zeppelin and a modern band not 2 months ago.

3. I hold no allegiance to “Rock and Roll” music. I have always enjoyed it, but no more than jazz or classical or electronica or anything else that is done well. The idea that Rock music might die (or has already) doesn’t bother me, mainly because I know I will probably enjoy whatever it is that rises in its place.

4. Regarding the previous point, Jazz music also “died” back in the 60’s. Since it’s alleged death the Jazz world has produced artists like Keith Jarrett, Branford Marsalis, and Bill Frisell. 

5. Music has not always been the “product” that it was in the 20th century, but music has always existed. While products may come and go, music itself is not in any danger.

I’ll maybe have some more comments tomorrow after I think about it more.

HT: Teichroew/Selness

