I’m sure many of you have already seen the above meme on Facebook or wherever. My friend Aaron just posted an interesting article allegedly providing scientific backing to this meme’s overall point, that Pop music has deteriorated over the past 60 years. It is a common sentiment that modern mainstream music is less “intelligent” or “creative,” and the linked article claims to prove this.

People… this is absurd. EVERY generation thinks their music is superior to the next generation’s music. Is music different now than it was? Yes. Can the differences be qualified and compared/contrasted so that one era emerges as a “winner” in the complex and infinitely subjective world of art? I’ll let you figure out the answer to that one on your own.

I’m saying this because of my current kick regarding the way music affects people’s EMOTIONS. I’m more and more convinced that music’s real currency is its ability to manipulate one’s FEELINGS. Melodies, chords, volume levels… these things contribute to the overall impact of the music, but they are not mathematical formulas for success or failure.

Bottom line: Bieber’s millions of die-hard fans cannot be explained away by simply claiming that they’re idiots. His music AFFECTS them, just like Sinatra’s music has affected me.

As always… hit me with your feedback.

