I’m sure many of you have seen my cut-out drumhead mufflers. I’m a huge fan of the newspaper-on-the-snare trick, and these head cut-outs are my answer for using such a tone in a live performance scenario (where bits of shredded newspaper isn’t desirable).

Like a Remo ring, but thicker. And... well... way cooler.

Like a Remo ring, but thicker. And… well… way cooler.

At this point I’m rotating between 3 options for these muffles: the above ring with an open center (The Donut), and the two full heads pictured below (The Pancake and Teh Pancake). Look for the soon-to-be-released towel/tshirt option, tentatively named “Waffle.”

These two muffles have slightly different weight grades, resulting in slightly different tones.

These two muffles have slightly different weight grades, resulting in slightly different tones.

 

