I’m always a fan of discovering new music, and my main method of this is asking people I admire what they’re listening to. Rich Hinman, the guitarist I’m on tour with right now, gave me a rad list of stuff to check out. I’m loving these records lately…

1) Tedeschi Trucks Band – Revelator… 2011’s Grammy-winning blues album from the husband-and-wife duo Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi. JJ Johnson on drums = groove city. (Hint: be sure and listen through the linked video to the second track).

2) Donny Hathaway – Donny Hathaway Live… This is the what a live soul record from 1972 is supposed to sound like. Fred White on drums, Willie Weeks on bass (probably my favorite part of the record), and a slamming aux perc player named Earl DeRouen.

3) Aretha Franklin – Live at Fillmore West… More live soul, this time from 1971 and featuring the first lady of soul herself. Then add the legendary Bernard Purdie on drums and it’s a groove fest of the highest order. Check out the tempo of Respect as the opening track. #what

4) Willie Nelson – Teatro… Willie Nelson has never really been on my radar as an artist to study, but a Willie Nelson album produced by Daniel Lanois certainly is. Much of the record features Emmylou Harris on bgvs. Victor Indrizzo on drums.

5) Gillian Welch – Time… No drums on this record. Just two vocalists, each playing an acoustic guitar. SONGS. Just songs. And it’s really beautiful.

