Last year I began a series of posts revisiting some of my older blog content, and for this week’s installment I’m combining that idea with my usual annual highlight reel. These are my favorite topics and discussions and posts from 2013…

A recap and commentary on Steve Jordan’s rad Memphis Drum Shop webcast clinic

Part 2 of my posts on kick drum technique

Reflections on the idea that drummers should play “melodies”

Descriptions and examples of my song-charting process

The intersection of music and commerce: “You Cannot Serve Both Music And Money”

Drumcam footage from Sara Bareilles and Owl City, as well as a rudiment warmup video

Tackling difficult patterns and challenges: “It Should Be Easy”

A pdf of my Drumhead Magazine feature

An incredible series of in-studio videos from session legend Dan Needham

 

